Our Aim:

Growing the Kingdom

Our Charge:

Love God, Love Others, and Serve the World

What We Believe:

We believe in God the Father Almighty,
maker of heaven and earth;

And in Jesus Christ his only Son our Lord:
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, dead, and buried;
the third day he rose from the dead;
he ascended into heaven,
and sitteth at the right hand of God the Father Almighty;
from thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead.

We believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

Our Local Church History:

UNDER CONSTRUCTION!  Check back often for more about our local church history!

In February 1959, the Lutz Methodist Church was organized.  In 1968 when the Methodist Church and the United Evangelical Brethren Church merged to create the United Methodist Church, the United Evangelical Brethren Church of Lutz was renamed the First United Methodist Church of Lutz and the Lutz Methodist Church was renamed Patterson Memorial United Methodist Church in honor of the organizing pastor, Dr. Lorenzo Dow Patterson.

In 1972 Patterson UMC was given the opportunity to move north to Land O Lakes.  So in 1973 the church moved to our present location at 6209 Land O Lakes Blvd and a name change took place from Patterson Memorial UMC to First UMC of Land O Lakes.

Our Appointed Pastors:

These have been our pastors since 1959:

Lorenzo Dow Patterson 1959 (Organized Lutz Methodist Church)

Jennings Neeld Jr. (Interim pastor) 1959

William Tiffin 1959-1962

T. Gerald Williams 1962-1963

Lee Strother 1963-1966

Paul Watts 1966-1970

Doug Clewis 1970-1975 (moved when church moved to Land O Lakes in 1973)

Terry Thompson 1975-1977

Wayne Vaughan 1977-1982

Charlie Boggs 1982-1986

Fred Ball 1986-1990

William Talbott 1990-1991

Tom Ettinger 1991-1994

Dan Campbell 1994-1998

Kent Crow 1998-2006

Guy Weatherly 2006-2007

Peter Cottrell 2007-2015

Ivan Corbin 2015-Present

Pastors which were “called” and then “sent” by our church:

Barry White 1980 (served three local UM churches and served 23 years as an Army Chaplain)

Gary Hallam 2013 (serving local church’s in Florida Conference)